Financial Tip Friday- Keep Track of Bills and Due Dates

Thanks for joining me for another Financial Tip Friday! I will be adding a new tip to my blog on how to manage your finances each Friday, so make sure you check back often to see the newest posts.Keep Track of Bills and Due Dates

Today’s tip is to keep track of bills and due dates. A lot of people struggle with keeping track of bills and remembering to pay them on time, especially when there are a lot of bills to pay. In order to keep track of your bills and due dates better I suggest (if you do not have one already) buying or making a simple pocket calendar or notebook at the least. In this pocket calendar or notebook I recommend writing in all your bills on the day they are due (possibly in red so they stand out) as well as days that you get paid. Your filled in calendar will look something like this:

Keep Track-bills and paydays
This is an example of how I used to keep track of my paydays and my bills.

By keeping track of your bills in a calendar like the one above, you can see everything at a glance and you can plan better. As the days pass you can easily see which bills are are coming up and you can plan when to pay them. For example, with the check you receive on the first you can pay AMEX, Electric, MasterCard and the car payment. The check on the 15th can be used to pay Car Insurance, Cable/Internet, VISA, and Discover. The last check can be used to pay your Loan and your rent. Depending on how much you get paid and how much each bill is you can modify this as needed.

By keeping track of your bills, the due dates and your pay dates with the above method or something similar you will prevent yourself from being charged horrendous late fees ($15 and up depending on the policy) as well as NSF and overdraft fees ($26 and up depending on your bank’s policies). So to save yourself from potentially paying hundreds of dollars in fees you should keep track of your bills and due dates in some way. It does not have to be this exact way but you should keep track of them whether it be on your phone, in a list or a bunch of sticky notes on a wall calendar. Any way is better than not keeping track at all.

Bills Tracker
I use this in my planner to keep track of bills when I pay them along with confirmation numbers. Read on to find out how to get this printable for free.
Bill Tracker 2
I keep a card like this laminated and move it from week to week in my planner. I check off the bill when it is paid and at the end of the month I wipe it clean and start it over.
post it bills
Post its on a calendar seemed like a fun idea so I gave it a shot. If you decide to use this method, you can either throw away the post it when it’s paid or move the post it to the next month.

The first 10 people to follow my blog this week will receive a printable Bill Tracker (like the one above-for personal use only). They can be printed and binded or you could use them in a personal size planner. If you already follow my blog, leave a comment below letting me know you’d like the printable and I’ll send one to you. Please do NOT share the actual file or file link. Instead please send your friends here to receive the free printable, thank you. Also, please keep in mind that all tips and scenarios are either from my own personal experience or configured solely for examples. Though the methods mentioned on my blog may have worked for me, I cannot guarantee they will work for everyone. However, I’d love it if you gave it a try and let me know how it worked for you! Well, that’s it for this weeks Financial Tip. Check back again next week for more!

DALYNsignature

2 thoughts on “Financial Tip Friday- Keep Track of Bills and Due Dates

Leave a Reply

